Pittsburgh Art Places


Separate entrances at Reynolds Street, Fern Hollow at Forbes Avenue, and two on Beechwood Boulevard

Related Links


City of Pittsburgh, Frick Park, stone, pin oak, lacebark pine, hawthorne

Artwork Type

Architecture, Permanent, Landscape Architecture

Frick Park Gatehouse Entrances

John Russell Pope


Owner City of Pittsburgh

Frick Park’s distinctive stone gatehouses share something with the Jefferson Memorial: they were all designed by the famed architect John Russell Pope. Between 1931 and 1935, Pope was converting Henry Clay Frick’s Fifth Avenue home in New York City to The Frick Collection, and presumably was contracted by the Frick family to design some structures for the new park in Pittsburgh. Four major entrances to Frick Park are marked by gatehouses: two on Beechwood Boulevard near the present-day Environmental Center, a smaller structure at the end of the Fern Hollow Bridge on Forbes Avenue, and one on Reynolds Street which was restored by the Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy in 2000. Another entrance structure, a simple cairn at the intersection of Forbes Avenue and Beechwood Boulevard, was also designed by Pope.

The Reynolds Street gatehouse was the first showcase project completed by The Pittsburgh Parks Conservancy. The restoration project included restoring the original mixed-clay tile roof, re-pointing stonework, and rebuilding portions of the wall. At long last, the original landscape plan by Innocenti and Webel became a reality, bringing more than 50 pin oak, hawthorne, and lacebark pine trees into the surrounding area along with planting beds that now bloom with daffodils in springtime. 

The map on this profile links to the Reynolds Street entrance. 

John Russell Pope (1874-1937) was an American architect. He studied architecture at Columbia University and attended the American Academy in Rome. His notable projects include the Jefferson Memorial in Washington D.C. and the National Gallery of Art. He was also known for his work on private residences.